Assign a gender to your business and take it to a party as a date, how do you introduce
him or her?

I chose Cotton On as my love interest. Walking into their stores and trying on their clothing gives me genuine butterflies and heart palpitations, so I felt it was only fitting.

Gender of my business: Female.

Me: Re-imagined as a male.

Dialogue format

Scene: At a party. 

Friend: And who is this then?

Me: Cotton, I’d like you to meet James.

Cotton: Nice to meet you James.

Friend (to Cotton): Cotton?

Me (interrupting): Yeah it’s her actual name.

Friend (to Cotton): Where’s that from?

Me (interrupting): I don’t really know, I mean she’s from Australia so maybe there’s some Aboriginal roots there?

Friend: Hmm.

Me: Yeah, exotic, I know. (Smiling at Cotton)

Friend: What do you do Cotton?

Me (interrupting): She works in fashion. She’s so dedicated to her work, you’d swear it’s an extension of herself. That’s how we met actually. I had seen her only once before at Pavilion shopping mall, but I then found out through her social media that she would be making an appearance at Gateway in Umhlanga. After finally meeting her in person, it was like love at first sight. It was our two year anniversary on Monday.

Friend: I’m so happy for you two. Everything still going well I presume?

Me: Well, yeah I mean every relationship has its ups and downs, right sweetie? She definitely has the kind of taste that does some damage to your wallet. But I don’t mind. Quality always comes at a price. (Smiling)

(Cotton walks away)

Friend: Dude, no offense, but isn’t she a little young for you?

Me: Nah. I mean, she has her childish side. But she’s an old soul at heart.

Friend: Okay, well as long as she’s legal. (Nervous laughter)

Me: She’s also really into her gyming. And you should see her lingerie collection…

Friend: (interrupting) Okay okay, TMI.

The concept

Cotton On originated in Australia, hence my use of Australia as the backstory for Cotton’s name.

Her job in fashion alludes to the fact that Cotton On is an actual clothing brand.

Cotton On first arrived in Durban at the Pavilion Shopping Mall, a branch I only visited once, but later expanded to Gateway, a branch I visit regularly. I decided to then use this as the backstory for our “first meeting.”

There is an allusion to the Kids Clothing section of Cotton On at the point in the conversation whereby my friend inquires about the age of Cotton, whereby I subsequently respond by saying she “has her childish side”; i.e. she has her kids section.

Similarly, I allude to the Activewear section of Cotton on by stating: “She’s really into her gyming”; as well as Cotton On Body (their underwear and PJ’s section) by stating: “And you should see her lingerie collection…”

Upon reflection, I realised that this dialogue may initially be confusing to the reader, and would most likely require me to explain the concept further. I find that the best copy (but not always) is the copy whereby the concept or thinking behind the creative solution is made immediately apparent and therefore easier to appreciate and/or understand. Although I wanted to force myself to go with the first concept that jumped to mind instead of overthinking, I feel that I still need to work on de-complicating my concepts.

I really enjoyed this task, as it allowed me to dabble in some dialogue copy. Film is one of my many creative passions, and this task allowed me to “dip my toe” into some dialogue/screenwriting.

 

